The concept of district, first time appeared only in the year 1963 when East zone was bifurcated from the East and North District and the West zone was in West District and the South District. Hence the West District came into existence as a modern administrative district only in 1963 by an order of the king on 1st April 1963 and Mr. PK Pradhan was appointed as first District Officer of the West District. The District Officer was given all administrative power on behalf of the king though the authority of Zonepal and Yaplas was still prevailing. In 1972 the term District Collector was used first time for the District Officer Mr. P.K. Pradhan is believed to be first District Collector of West District. After the merger of Sikkim in India the District Collector was designated as District Magistrate and the District Collector was conferred with the powers provided in criminal procedures of 1898.

As per Sikkim Govt gazetted  notification 50/LR&DMD/ACQ/GOS dated 20 December 2021 West Sikkim district bifurcated into 2 district namely Gyalshing and Soreng .Thus Soreng district came into existence. Soreng